Immigration and Customs


Schengen area


In 1985 France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands established among themselves a territory without borders, called the Schengen Area, after the name of the town in Luxembourg where the first agreements were signed.

This intergovernmental cooperation was then extended to thirteen countries, with the signing of the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1997.

Now the Schengen agreement brings 25 European countries together:

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Hungary.

Foreigners: the citizens of all other countries. For entrance to a stay in or transit across the entire Schengen area, foreigners must be in possession of a passport or another travel document recognized as valid to cross the borders of all Schengen countries.



Customs and duties


The VAT refund request can be submitted to the offices of the Customs Office located in the Departures area of Terminal 1, Terminal 3 and in the Boarding Area E, near the ADR Info Point or to the VAT Refund operators offices. We remind you that the VAT refund for products transported inside the hold baggage must be requested before the check-in operations.


For invoices issued in Italy by Global Blue, Planet and Tax Refund operators, it is necessary to contact the relevant offices located at the Departures of Terminal 3 near the  check-in counters 196-225 and in the Boarding area E, near the ADR Info Point. In any other case it is necessary to contact the Customs Office.


Travellers from outside the EU are reminded that from 1 September electronic invoicing will be mandatory for supllies of goods.