Schenghen Treaty


In 1985 the government  of France, Germany, Belgium, Luxemburg and The Netherlands created a borderless territory, called the Schengen Area, referring to the name of the city in Luxemburg where this agreement was first signed.

This intergovernmental cooperation later extended to thirteen countries, with the signing of the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1997.

Currently the Schenghen Agreement includes 25 European countries:

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Iceland, Lavia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Norway, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Hungary.



Citizens from all other countries, entering as visitors or in transit within the Schengen Area, most be in possession of a valid passport or other accepted travel document in order to cross Schengen Countries borders.