Schengen area


In 1985 France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands established among themselves a territory without borders, called the Schengen Area, after the name of the town in Luxembourg where the first agreements were signed.

This intergovernmental cooperation was then extended to thirteen countries, with the signing of the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1997.

Now the Schengen agreement brings 25 European countries together:

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Hungary.

Foreigners: the citizens of all other countries. For entrance to a stay in or transit across the entire Schengen area, foreigners must be in possession of a passport or another travel document recognized as valid to cross the borders of all Schengen countries.